Special Correspondent

TIRUVARUR: Collector M. Chandrasekaran on Tuesday, honoured J. Jayaraman, president of the Pallivarthi panchayat in Kottur block in the district who received the Uthamar Gandhi award from the State Government for the year 2007-08.

The award was given for the best panchayat president, able administration, transparency and successful implementation of development works.

The panchayat had already received the Nirmal Purskar award from the President last year.

The Collector pointed out that Mr. Jayaraman, the president of Pallivarthi panchayat, had brought laurels to the district and said that he was one among the 15 panchayat presidents in the State who was honoured with the Uthamar Gandhi award for the year 2007-08.