Staff Reporter

TIRUNELVELI: Twenty four village panchayats in the district have been selected to receive the Union Government’s Nirmal Gram Puraskar for 2007 - 2008.

The award is given every year to outstanding village panchayats for ensuring cleanliness under their jurisdiction by executing solid and liquid waste management programmes and making the villagers to construct toilet in every house with financial assistance being extended by the Central Government.

According to Collector G. Prakash, Mela Veeranam (Alangulam panchayat union), Zamin Singampatti and Adaiyakarunkulam (Ambasamudram panchayat union), Venkatrengapuram, Kooniyoor (Cheranmahadevi panchayat union), Ravanasamudram (Kadayam panchayat union), Kodikurichi (Kadayanallur panchayat union), Idaiyankulam (Kalakkad panchayat union), Keezhavellakaal (Keezhapaavoor panchayat union), Pettai Rural, Kurichikulam and Chiththaarchathram (Maanur panchayat union), Ilankulam and Koonthankulam (Nanguneri panchayat union), Ittaeri, Konganthaanpaarai, Ponnaakudi and Melapaattam (Palayamkottai panchayat union), Appuvilai and Karaisuttru Uvari (Radhapuram panchayat union), Manalur (Sankarankovil panchayat union), Periyapillaivalasai and Kaasimajorpuram (Tenkasi panchayat union) and Sangupuram (Vasudevanallur panchayat union) village panchayats have been selected for the award. Based on the population of village panchayats, the Central Government gives cash prizes, ranging from Rs. 50,000 to Rs. 5 lakh to the award-winning local bodies under the Nirmal Gram Puraskar awards.

At a function to be held at Pune on December 8, presidents of these village panchayats will receive the award, carrying a certificate and cash prize, from President Pratiba Patil.