Special Correspondent

CHENNAI: The State government has issued the notification regarding the formation of the new Tirupur district.

As per the notification, Coimbatore and Erode districts would be divided into three districts – Coimbatore district with headquarters at Coimbatore; Erode district headquartered at Erode and Tirupur district with headquarters at Tirupur.

The six taluks of Coimbatore North, Coimbatore South, Mettupalayam, Sulur, Pollachi and Valparai would constitute Coimbatore district. Erode, Perundurai, Gobichettipalayam, Sathyamangalam and Bhavani taluks would form Erode district. Tirupur, Avanashi, Palladam, Dharapuram, Kangeyam and Udumalpet would constitute Tirupur district.

As per the order, the Special Officer would take charge of the administration of the new district immediately.