Staff Reporter

Constituencies in Kancheepuram increase from 9 to 11

KANCHEEPURAM: The newly-formed Sholinganallur Assembly constituency has the highest number of voters in the photo electoral rolls, released for 11 constituencies in Kancheepuram district on October 23.

The total number of constituencies in Kancheepuram district increased was from 9 to 11 after the delimitation exercise carried out by the Election Commission. While Sholinganallur and Pallavaram were formed new, the Achirapakkam constituency was renamed as Cheyyur Assembly segment.

A total of 2,46,815 voters were included in the electoral roll of the Sholinganallur constituency. It was followed by the Pallavaram Assembly segment with 2,10,286 voters.

Disclosing this to reporters here on Thursday, the District Revenue Officer and Collector (in-charge), A.Nambirasan said that after the delimitation exercise, the total number of voters in Tambaram and Alandur constituencies, from where certain areas have been carved out to form two new segments, has come down to 1,78,634 and 1,86,845, respectively. Earlier, these two constituencies had 6,55,465 voters and 3,68,775 voters, respectively.

The delimitation exercise resulted in an increase in the total number of voters in four other Assembly segments – Chengalpattu (from 1,56,545 to 1,84,043), Cheyyur (from 1,27,806 to 1,52,215), Madurantakam (from 1,40,567 to 1,60,937) and Uthiramerur (1,68,367 to 1,73,699) – and a decline in 3 other segments – Tiruporur (from 2,15,998 to 1,60,629), Sriperumbudur (1,95,131 to 1,61,627) and Kancheepuram (from 2,07,242 to 2,06,430).

A total of 2,25,214 applications for inclusion of names were received during the special electoral roll revision exercise carried out till August 20 this year, Mr.Nambirasan . Eligible voters who have not applied for inclusion of their names in voter list or those who would be attaining 18 years of age as on January 1, 2009 could submit their application for inclusion of names on or after November 10 this year, he said.