Special Correspondent

In view of the delimitation exercise in Madurai district

Final list to be prepared

Review meeting held

MADURAI: In view of the delimitation exercise, the number of polling stations is expected to fall from 2,370 to 2,046 in the district.

District Collector S. S. Jawahar presided over a meeting to review the exercise on Thursday that was attended by members from recognised political parties and their representatives.

Based on the feedback from the representatives on the revised number of polling stations, the district election officials would prepare the final list of polling stations and forward it to the Chief Electoral Officer soon.

According to a press release, following the delimitation exercise, the officials had released the list of draft polling stations on June 10.

As per the revision, Madurai district would have 10 Assembly constituencies: Madurai Lok Sabha: Melur, Madurai East, Madurai North, Madurai South, Madurai Central, Madurai West; Theni Lok Sabha: Sholavandan (Res) and Usilampatti; Virudhunagar Lok Sabha: Tirupparankundram and Tirumangalam.

The changes to be made in the electors’ entries in these constituencies are already underway and will be completed shortly. Presently, the number of polling stations in Madurai district stands at 2,370, including 1,362 all-voter stations, 504 men and 504 women stations. After delimitation, the number of polling stations will be 2,046, including 1,610 all- voter stations, 218 men and 218 women polling stations.

The number of electors per polling station had been proposed as 1,200 in rural areas and up to 1,350 in urban areas, the press release said.