R. Krishnamoorthy

ARIYALUR: Three villages, one each in Ariyalur, Perambalur and Tiruvannamalai districts, will be linked to the State Computer Centre that will be commissioned by Chief Minister M. Karunanidhi in Chennai on April 8.

Common service centres through which villagers can pay their electricity and telephone bills, book rail and air tickets and correspond with government departments will be established on a pilot basis at Keelapazhur in Ariyalur district, Esanai in Perambalur district and Katteri in Tiruvannamalai district, as part of the Rs.300-crore project to be executed during the 11th Plan period.

The Chief Minister will hold video conferencing with the Collectors of the three districts and panchayat presidents on the day of commissioning, Union Minister for Communications and IT A. Raja told mediapersons on Saturday.