Staff Reporter

THENI: The six municipalities in the district have advised residents to pay taxes along with arrears before March 31, failing which drinking water and drainage connection would be cut off. Municipal commissioners of the respective civic bodies issued the warning on Friday.

In Periyakulam, Municipal Commissioner Subramaniam asked the people to pay property tax, drinking water charges, industrial tax, lease amount and rent for buildings and also settle arrears, if any, before the deadline.

Theni Alli Nagaram municipality has intensified campaign among people through autorickshaws to settle the dues to the municipality without fail. Cumbum, Bodinaickanur and Gudalur municipalities have also appealed to the people to remit all taxes immediately.