Special Correspondent

THANJAVUR: A sum of Rs. 2.08 crore has been allotted by the Government for payment of compensation to farmers whose crops were damaged in rain in Thanjavur district, according to a press from Collector C. Vijayaraj Kumar.

The money was deposited in primary agriculture cooperative banks in eight taluks. According to assessment made by the Agriculture Department, 13,893 farmers have been affected in the district. Of them, 88 were in Thiruvaiyaru taluk, 4,243 in Pattukottai, 817 in Peravurani, 655 in Orathanadu, 2,333 in Thanjavur, 568 in Kumbakonam , 1,936 in Thiruvidaimaruthur and 3,253 in Papanasam taluk.