Water levelMADURAI: The water level in the Periyar dam stood at 124.30 feet with a discharge of 1150 cusecs. The level in the Vaigai dam was 57.25 feet with an inflow of 622 cusecs and a discharge of 900 cusecs. The combined Periyar credit stood at 5842 mcft. Periyar dam recorded 2 mm of rainfall.

Power shutdownThere will be a power shutdown in the following areas served by Tiruppalai sub-station on June 6, Tuesday, between 9 a.m. and 3 p.m. owing to maintenance work: Tiruppalai, Narayanapuram, Athikulam, Valluvar Nagar, Viswanathapuram, Mahathma Gandhi Nagar, Mullai Nagar, Sivakkadu, Kulamangalam, Krishnapuram Colony, Bibikulam, Maruthupandian Nagar, Kannanenthal, Surya Nagar, Kadachanendal, Oomachikulam, Alanganallur, Sugar Mill, Valayapatti, Senthamangalam, Mettupatti, Narasingam, Uthangudi and Manmalaimedu.

Railways thankedTamil Nadu Chamber of Commerce and Industry has thanked the Ministry of Railways for restoring the telescopic benefits in end-to-end fares.

In a press release here, its president S. Rethinavelu said that the chamber had taken up the matter with the Ministry of Railways and pointed out the serious impact it had created on passengers travelling to destinations with no direct trains.The telescopic benefits will be restored with effect from June 15.

Controversy deploredThe Federation of Consumer Organization- Tamil Nadu and Pondicherry (FEDCOT) has expressed anguish over the ongoing controversy across the country over the Central Government's decision to reserve 27 per cent seats for Other Backward Classes candidates in higher educational institutions.

In a press release issued here recently, the organisation claimed that such a situation could have been avoided had the Union Human Resource Development Minister, Arjun Singh, acted with restraint and forethought. According to FEDCOT, the issue should have been thrown open to a public debate involving the intelligentsia before taking a final decision.

Office-bearersThe following were elected office-bearers of the Madurai District Rice Mill Owners' Association for 2006-2007 at its general body meeting held recently: K. Vasanthavel (president), M. Chandramohan and S.T. Arasakumar (vice-presidents), M. S. Chandran (general secretary), D. Velrajan (joint secretary), S. Thirupugalsami (deputy secretary) and P. Dhanasekeran (treasurer). Staff Reporter