Budding mathematicians

While Manimaran and Sundararaja of SVV Higher Secondary School bagged the first two prizes, Sivakami of Government Higher Secondary School, won the third prize in the mathematical skill competitions held at Bharat Niketan Engineering College in Andipatti recently. The college chairman, Mohan distributed prizes to the winners.

The second Annual Day of S.S.M. Matriculation Higher Secondary School, Dindigul, was celebrated in a grand manner. Students put up a colourful cultural show. Chief guest Velammal Educational Trust Chief Executive Officer M.V.M. Velmurugan distributed prizes to winners of various competitions. Industrialist P.S. Veluswamy presided.

Swimming champ

Sivasamy, tenth class student of Pannai Matriculation School, who won the first prize in the district level swimming competition was honoured at the sports day function of the school. Another student M. Janani (ninth class) who clinched the third prize at the state level essay competition organised by World Thirukkural Peravai was also honoured.

Prizes were distributed by Auditor Pannai M. Karthikeyan.

Cultural programme

Punjabi dance, plays in both Tamil and English and other cultural programmes displayed the talent, imagination and creativity of the students at the annual day of Kaviyan School at Ammayanaickanur in Dindigul recently. Parents of the children and teachers participated.

Green arivial

The Leader's School, Karaikudi hosted “Green Arivial” expo at its campus recently. M. Panneerselvam, Superintendent of Police, Sivaganga and Prof. Narendra Nayak were the chief guests on the inaugural day. Innovative and interesting stalls were set up by the students to create the basic awareness on science and other subjects. More than 25 schools took part in the exhibition.

The management gave away prizes for two categories worth Rs.85,000 along with a trophy. Special award was also given to a participant to the tune of Rs.20,000.

The prize winners of category I were SMSV Boys Higher Secondary School, Karaikudi (I Prize), Government Girls Higher Secondary School, Karaikudi (II Prize) and Panchayat Union School, Chinna Venga Vayal, (III Prize).

The prize winners of category II were Sri Kalaivani Vidyalaya, Karaikudi (I Prize), S.C.G.R High School, Amaravathiputhur (II Prize) and Sri Vidyaa Giri Matriculation School, Puduvayal (III Prize).

S. Sudalaimuthu, Vice Chancellor, Alagappa University and Mrs. Kunjaravalli, Managing Trustee of Velammal Educational Trust took part in the valedictory function.