Shortly after two Ministers were dropped from the Cabinet and two others named to replace them, Chief Minister and AIADMK general secretary Jayalalithaa on Thursday night posted the two Ministers-designate — Mukkur N. Subramanian and N.R. Sivapathy – as district secretaries of the party.

Mr. Subramanian, who will be sworn in on Friday and made Information Technology Minister, was posted as Tiruvannamalai North district secretary in the place of K. Mohan.

Mr. Sivapathy, who will take over as School Education Minister, was named Tiruchi Rural district secretary and the incumbent K.K. Balasubramanian was relieved of his post.

S.P. Velumani, who was dropped as Revenue Minister, was also relieved of his post as Coimbatore Rural district secretary. He will be replaced by S. Damodaran, who is Agriculture Minister.

In a related development, Ms. Jayalalithaa expelled ‘Thottakkalai' V. Krishnamoorthy, once considered her close associate, and three others from the primary membership of the party.