‘Ugadi Puraskar’ given to film personalities

CHENNAI: It was a star-studded event as doyens from the Telugu film industry gathered in the city to celebrate Telugu New Year at a function organised by Sri Kala Sudha Telugu Association on Friday.

Seven eminent film personalities and two persons from other fields were honoured with ‘Ugadi Puraskar’ for their achievements this year. Director Kodi Ramakrishna received award for the best film ‘Arundathi.’ While actor Tharun was chosen as best actor for the film ‘Shashirekha Parinayam,’ Allari Naresh was given special jury award for ‘Gamyam.’

In the category of best screenplay, Neelakanta was presented with an award for the film ‘Mr.Medhavi’ and Indraganti Mohanakrishna was honoured with best dialogue writer for the movie ‘Ashta Chemma.’ Other honoured with Ugadi Puraskars were cinematographer S.Gopal Reddy, playback singer Suneetha, Orchid Chemicals and Pharmaceutical’s managing director K.Raghavendra Rao and former chairman of Indian Bank M.B.N.Rao. Presenting the awards, veteran film director K.Viswanath commended the association for identifying the talent and honouring the personalities in the film industry. One of the association’s patrons and managing director of B.J.Exports, B.Jayaram announced a donation of Rs.10 lakh to the association and presented a cheque for an initial payment of Rs.5 lakh.

Veteran producer Edida Nageswara Rao, South Indian Film Chamber of Commerce secretary Katragadda Prasad, music director R.P.Patnaik, actor Srikanth and director V.N.Aditya participated.