A ‘perfect ten' in Madurai

S. Annamalai
print   ·   T  T  

AIADMK does it for the third time, twice under Jayalalithaa

It will make any gymnast proud. A ‘perfect 10.' Among many statistics churned out in the 2011-Assembly election is a ‘perfect 10' in Madurai district.

This is for the fourth time an alliance has accomplished this feat since the 1967 general election. And the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam has done it for the third time, twice under the stewardship of Jayalalithaa.

In the 1951 general election, the composite Madurai district had five constituencies.

The number rose to six in 1951 and to eight in 1962. The current figure of 10 came in 1967. Even after the creation of Dindigul and Theni districts, the number has remained the same.

In the 1977 Assembly election, when the MGR wave swept the State, the Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, which contested a general election for the first time, won eight seats in the district — Madurai West, Madurai Central, Melur, Sholavandan, Samayanallur (Reserved), Tirupparankundram, Tirumangalam and Sedapatti. Its allies, Communist Party of India (Marxist) and All India Forward Bloc, won one seat each.

In the next election, after the dismissal of the ADMK government, a ‘perfect 10' did not happen as P. Nedumaran won as an Independent from Madurai Central.

In this election, M. G. Ramachandran got elected from Madurai West by defeating Pon. Muthuramalingam of the DMK by a margin of 21,066 votes. A ‘perfect 10' happened again in 1991, when the AIADMK swept the polls in the company of Congress and United Communist Party of India.

In this election, AIADMK candidates won in Madurai West (UCPI candidate S. V. Shanmugam contested in ‘two leaves' symbol), Madurai East, Sholavandan, Samayanallur (Reserved), Tirupparankundram, Tirumangalam, Usilampatti and Sedapatti. The Congress won in Madurai Central and Melur.

Reverse trend

The trend reversed in 1996, when the DMK and its ally, Tamil Manila Congress, won all the 10 seats of Madurai district. DMK candidates were returned from Madurai East, Madurai West, Sholavandan (AIFB candidate L. Santhanam contested in ‘rising sun' symbol), Samayanallur (Reserved), Tirupparankundram, Tirumangalam and Sedapatti. TMC candidates won in Melur and Madurai Central. P. N. Vallarasu of AIFB, an ally of DMK, won the Usilampatti seat. In a clean sweep, the AIADMK and its ally, Desiya Murpokku Dravida Kazhagam, won all the seats in the 2011 election. AIADMK candidates captured Melur, Madurai East, Sholavandan, Madurai North, Madurai West and Tirumangalam.

The DMDK, which has been giving the DMK and the AIADMK a run for their money in the by-elections conducted in Madurai district between 2006 and 2010, opened its account by winning Madurai Central and Tirupparankundram.

The CPI (M) won in Madurai South and the AIFB, which contested in its popular ‘lion' symbol, in Usilampatti.

The Pattali Makkal Katchi, which had its nominee in Sholavandan, could not open its account in south Tamil Nadu.




Recent Article in TAMIL NADU

Bird flu: treading with caution

Chittoor administration initiates precautionary measures to prevent infection through imported stock »