Staff Reporter

Tuticorin: A total of 44 candidates remained in fray for the local body byelections to the posts of four village panchayat presidents, 24 village panchayat ward members and one town panchayat ward member, scheduled for February 8.

The last date for withdrawal of nominations ended Wednesday evening.

Official sources said that 19 of the 63 nominations filed were withdrawn on Wednesday.

Of the total contestants in the fray, Subbammal and Dhandayuthapani stood elected to the posts of presidents of Paraikootam (Ottapidaram block) and Sivagnanapuram (Vilathikulam block) village panchayats, respectively, being the only candidates in the contest.

Sources said that four persons, Karpagam, Rajakani, Sakthikani and Jayantha, would contest for the post of village panchayat president at Meerankulam (Alwarthirunageri), and seven persons, Perumal, Kombaiah, Soorasudin, Murugan, Subramanian, Iqbal and Nattar, for the post of village panchayat president at Kulasekarapattinam (Udangudi block).

No contest

Elections will not take place at Ward 1 of Moolakarai village panchayat under Tiruchendur block as there were no contestants.

Three persons remained in the contest for the post of town panchayat ward member at Eral.

The by-polls have been scheduled for February 8 and the counting, February 9.

In all, 130 polling personnel would be deployed during the by-elections.