Of the total 5,182 postal ballot papers that were distributed for the Assembly elections, 3,666 were received till Tuesday.

Rasipuram Assembly segment (AS) received the most number of postal votes (892) followed by Namakkal AS (790), Paramathi-Velur AS (640), Tiruchengode AS (528), Senthamangalam AS (498) and Kumarapalayam AS (318), a statement from District Election Officer (DEO) S. Madhumathi said.

Voters using the postal ballot system should submit their votes to the Returning Officer of the respective Assembly Segment before 7 p.m. on Thursday, Ms. Madhumathi said.

An arrangement had been made in concurrence with the Superintendent of Posts to handover the postal ballots received till Friday morning at the counting centre before 8 a.m. on May 13 through a special messenger, she added.