Staff Reporter

Tuticorin: The Collector, R. Palaniyandi, and the DIG (Tirunelveli range), Kanhu Charan Mahali, distributed certificates of merit to 230 police officials in the district here on Friday evening, for their stupendous performance in ensuring smooth conduct of local body elections.

The awardees included the Superintendent of Police John Nicholson, Assistant Superintendent of Police Aswin Kotnis Mukund, Additional Superintendent of Police Thondiraj, DSPs Mohammed Gori ( Town sub-division), Natarajamoorthy (Rural), Samidurai Vel ( Tiruchendur), Sunderararaj (Maniyachi), Samson ( Vilathikulam), Gandhi ( Sattankulam), 47 Inspectors, and the rest were SIs.

The Principal Sessions Judge, Gokul Das, the Chief Judicial Magistrate, Prabhu Das, and other senior judicial officers attended.