Special Correspondent

PUDUKOTTAI: A total of 186 Scouts and Guides – Scouts 115 and Guides 71 – of Pudukottai and Aranthangi education districts won the State Governor's Rajya Puraskar for the year 2008-09.

They were among the 4,019 Scouts and 3,927 Guides, selected for the award throughout the State.

At a glittering function held recently at the Raj Bhavan in Chennai, Governor Surjit Singh Barnala presented the prestigious awards to a few selected Scouts and Guides. C. Srinivasan (Government Higher Secondary School, Vayalogam), M Sivarajan and P. Abinaya (Government HSS, Maramadakki) and P. Saranya (Government HS, Maruthanthalai) received the awards from the Governor.

Thangam Thennarasu, Minister for School Education; Kutralingam, Principal Secretary, School Education Department; P. Perumalsamy, Director of School Education; Devarajan, Director of Elementary Education; Darma Rajendran, Deputy Director and state secretary of Scouts Movement; and V. Gunaseelan, Pudukottai district secretary of the Scouts and Guides, who were present on the occasion, felicitated the award winners.

On their return, the Scouts and Guides were felicitated by D. Hariharan, Chief Educational Officer; M. Madevan Pillai and Dasarathan, both District Educational Officers; R. Paramasivan, District Elementary Education Officer (in-charge); S. Chinnappa, district president of the Scouts and Guides; and A. Soosai, Headmaster, Government Higher Secondary School, Maruthanthalai.