15 village panchayats get Nirmal Puraskar

print   ·   T  T  
Well done: Collector M. Vallalar honouring a village panchayat president in Dindigul on Thursday.
Well done: Collector M. Vallalar honouring a village panchayat president in Dindigul on Thursday.

Staff Reporter

DINDIGUL: Fifteen village panchayats in the district have won Nirmal Puraskar award this year.

Collector M. Vallalar honoured Panchayat presidents, recipients of Nirmal Gram Puraskar Award, in his camp office here on Thursday.

A total of 75,526 individual complexes, 1,179 toilets in schools and 1,999 in anganwadis and 20 sanitary complexes manned by self-help groups had been constructed in the district so far. The Central government had sanctioned Rs.21.44 crore for this purpose. Twenty six works under solid waste management were completed so far, he added.

“All panchayats should strive hard for implementation of total sanitation programme and to get the award.”

The award winning village panchayats: Kalikkampatti, N. Panjampatti, K. Keeranur, Kalanjipatti, Reddiyapatti, Mollampatti, Chinnakalayamputhur, Pachalanaickenpatti, Iyampalayam, Kaamanur, Vellakavi, Malvarpatti, S. mettupatti, Boothakudi, S. Ammapatti.

President Pratibha Patil presented cash prizes and citations to the recipients of the award in Pune recently.

Union Ministry of Rural Development has instituted the Nirmal Gram Puraskar (clean village award) in 2003 under total sanitation campaign to encourage and honour Panchayat Raj Institutions (PRIs) that achieved total sanitation at their villages by banning open defecation and making total sanitation campaign into a mass movement.

Only two panchayats in the district had won this award in 2006-07.




Recent Article in TAMIL NADU

PMK leader Anbumani Ramadass was given theinvite by the PMO. It was open only to the NDAMPs, so MDMK leader Vaiko and DMDK leader Vijayakant were left out, says the BJP.

Dinner invite causes heartburns in NDA

In a sign of widening fissures in the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) in Tamil Nadu, the allies of the BJP on Saturday made their disp... »