MADURAI: Fifteen school teachers from Madurai district have been selected for the Best Teacher Awards for 2006-07 to be presented by the State Government.

The recipients include teachers of primary, high school and higher secondary schools, according to officials in the School Education Department here.

These teachers received the awards on Wednesday at the Teacher’s Day function in Chennai to mark the birth anniversary of Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan.

The awardees are: R. Santha Devi, Tamil teacher, Thiagarajar Model Higher Secondary School, Madurai; N. Ignatius Britto, Headmaster, St. Mary’s Higher Secondary School, Madurai; V. Chandrasekaran, Headmaster, Government Higher Secondary School, T. Kallupatti; G. Muthuramalingam, PG teacher, Gandhiniketan Higher Secondary School, T. Kallupatti; M. Ayyadurai, Headmaster, Government High School, E. Malampatti and M. Rajaram, vocational service teacher, Government Higher Secondary School, Samayanallur.

Headmasters selected for the award from elementary schools are: P. Kannan, Headmaster of Panchayat Union Middle School, Manickampatti;, V. Chandra, TVS Primary School, Madurai; S. Jayamary, RC Middle School, Madurai; R. Ranganayaki, Panchayat Union Middle School, T. Sekkiyapatti; K. Nallamuthu, Panchayat Union Middle School, Thirumal; P. Jayabal, MALIM Primary School, K. Vellalakulam; M. Arokia Selvaraj, RC Middle School, Kadhakinaru; R. Natarajan, Madurai East Panchayat Union Middle School, Thirumogur, and S. Liaqath Ali, Panchayat Union Primary School, Meenakshipuram.

Matric schools

According to department officials, two teachers from matriculation schools outside Madurai district would also receive the Best Teacher Award.

They are Ayyavoo, Principal, Sivakasi Lions Matriculation Higher Secondary School, Sivakasi, and R. Saravana Rajan, Principal, Sri Williams Matriculation Higher Secondary School, Srivilliputhur.