The campaign of candidates of ruling Biju Janata Dal (BJD) contesting the urban body elections in Ganjam district would be monitored by three State ministers from the district.

These ministers are Surya Narayan Patra, Usha Devi and Bikjram Keshari Arukh. It may be noted that Ganjam happens to be the home district of the Chief Minister and BJD president Naveen Patnaik.

Speaking to newsmen at Gopalpur on Sunday evening, these three ministers claimed that the BJD would be able to take over most of the urban bodies including Berhampur Municipal Corporation in the coming urban body polls.

Mr. Patra has taken charge of the BJD campaign for the BMC.

On Sunday he held one to one in camera meetings with the BJD candidates for different wards of the BMC at Gopalpur to discuss about various issues sand problems related to their campaign.

It may be noted that one of the candidates of the BJD has withdrawn the nomination papers.

The BJD leaders including Mr. Patra alleged that this candidate had withdrawn the nomination papers due to alleged threats by the opponents.

They did not prefer to name any political party in relation to this withdrawal of candidature.

“We will surely win around 85 per cent of the seats of the BMC although our candidates are contesting in 39 out of total 40 wards,” said Mr. Patra. Mr. Devi said people of Berhampur realise the fact that Berhampur municipality could become the third municipal corporation of the State only due to active interest of the Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik.

Long standing


The BJD leaders were of the opinion that during past years Berhampur had developed much and its long standing demands like drinking water crisis had been alleviated.

They felt this would bring voters to their favour in the city.

Speaking on the campaign plans, they informed that the Chief Minister and BJD president was expected to visit Berhampur on September 16 to provide fillip to the party’s campaign.

On that day he would also campaign in six other key urban bodies in the district. Some Odia cine stars including Berhampur MP Siddhant Mohapatra and Anubhav Mohanty were also scheduled to campaign for party candidates in BMC area.