Lucknow: The Uttar Pradesh Government on Thursday decided to establish six new tehsils in various districts to ensure effective functioning of the administrative machinery.

The decision was taken by the State Cabinet in its meeting here, Cabinet Secretary Shashank Shekhar Singh told reporters.

The new tehsils to be formed are: Bhiti (Ambedkar Nagar), Mahavan (Mathura), Rampur Maniharan (Saharanpur), Jaisinghpur (Sultanpur), Khatauli (Muzaffarnagar) and Tanda (Rampur), he said.