Details regarding seats to contest has been sorted out between the CPI (M) and the CPI and both these left parties would jointly plunge into the electoral battle in Odisha, said State secretary of the CPI (M) Janardan Pati.

Speaking to The Hindu during his visit to Ganjam district to take part in a party workers’ meet for Berhampur parliamentary constituency, Mr. Pati said on Wednesday night, leaders of the CPI(M) and the CPI had met in a meeting to sort out the details regarding contesting elections in Odisha. The only stumbling block between both these left parties was regarding Balasore Lok Sabha seat and Remuna assembly seat, which was sorted out.

It was decided that the CPI would contest the Balasore parliamentary seat while the CPI (M) which was also planning contest from this seat would contest from the Remuna assembly segment. Apart from it the CPI (M) has also decided to contest in Digaphandi assembly seat in Ganjam district where the BJD leader and State revenue minister would contest. It may be noted that the CPI is planning to contest in Chatrapur, Aska, Khallikote, Sanakhemundi assembly segments and Aska Lok Sabha seat in Ganjam, the home district of the Chief Minister and BJD president Naveen Patnaik.

Joint public meeting

As a joint show of strength, the CPI (M) and the CPI have planned up a joint public meeting at Chatrapur on March 20, which would be addressed by top CPI (M) leader Sitaram Yechury. It may be noted that Chatrapur is part of the Berhampur parliamentary constituency where State secretariat member of the CPI (M) Ali Kishore Patnaik would contest.

According to Mr. Pati, the CPI (M) has also held discussions with leaders of CPI-ML (Liberation) and it has been decided in principle that in constituencies where candidates of these parties would not clash, they would support each other.

During his visit to Ganjam district, Mr Pati took part in a party meeting for the elections held at Ankushpur village. This meeting was also attended by the candidate for Berhampur Lok Sabha seat Mr. Patnaik, State secretariat member Jagannath Mishra and the CPI (M) candidate for Digapahandi assembly sea Bidyadhar Jena.

In this meeting, Mr. Pati termed the BJD to be no different than the Congress or the BJP as all these parties forget the basic needs of common mass. He alleged that all these three parties were equally responsible and involved in the mining scam in the State.