Exuding confidence to perform well in upcoming Assembly and general elections, Odisha Jan Morcha (OJM) on Friday announced candidates for the first phase of elections.

Addressing a press conference here, OJM president Pyarimohan Mohapatra said the party will field candidates for two Lok Sabha constituencies while 42 OJM leaders will contest from Assembly segments. “In the first phase, votes will be polled in 70 Assembly constituencies. Our list of 42 candidates is not final. If we come across good candidates in the last minute, their candidature would be considered. We will leave four seats for our alliance partner for Republican Party of India,” Mr. Mohapatra said. The last date for filing nomination for first phase of elections is Saturday. OJM will field Sunil Chandra Nayak and Arjun Bhatra for Kalahandi and Nabrangpur Lok Sabha constituencies respectively. The party has chosen Satyanarayan Das to contest against Chief Minister and BJD supremo Naveen Patnaik at Hinjilicut.

Alleging that ruling Biju Janata Dal entered into unholy understanding with Congress and BJP to check progress of emerging parties like OJM, Mr. Mohapatra said, “Chief Minister is desperate to guard him against CBI probe. He made tactical understanding with Congress which could be evident from the candidates he has fielded.”