Special Correspondent

Election in Karaikal, Mahe and Yanam regions on June 24

Election for commune panchayats, presidents, ward members of village panchayatsSecond phase on June 27, third phase on July 1

PONDICHERRY: The State Election Commission of Pondicherry, on Saturday, issued statutory notifications for the first phase of civic polls to be held on June 24 in Karaikal, Mahe and Yanam regions. State Election Commissioner R. Narayana said that nominations can be filed with the issue of notifications and the last date for this is June 10. While scrutiny of nominations has been scheduled for June 12 the last date for withdrawal of papers is June 14. He said that nominations could be filed between 11 a.m. and 3 p. m. on all working days including Saturdays.

The election of chairmen for the three municipalities (Karaikal, Mahe and Yanam) and councillors of the municipal councils would be on party basis. The five commune panchayats that go to poll in Karaikal region are Cottuchery, Neduncadu, Neravy, T R Pattinam and Thirunallar. Members of the Commune panchayat, presidents and ward members of the village panchayats would be elected here. Among these, only the election of the commune panchayat member would be on party basis.Voters would exercise the franchise using ballot papers .

The Deputy Collector (Revenue) L.Mohammed Manzoor is the Returning Officer for Karaikal municipality while Krishna Kumar Singh and L.Kumar, the Regional Administrators of Mahe and Yanam regions, are the respective Returning officers of the Municipalities of these regions. The SEC have also appointed the Returning officers for the five commune panchayats in Karaikal .

Deputy Director of Accounts and Treasuries C.Raghvan has been appointed for the Cottuchery commune panchayat, Chief Educational Officer Dharmaraj for Neduncadu, the Deputy Registrar of Cooperative Societies P.Subramanian for Neravy, the Child Development Project Officer James Pandian for T.R.Pattinam and Deputy Director of Civil Supplies Abel Rozario for Tirunallar.

Observers for the municipalities and commune panchayats of these regions have also been appointed.