Special Correspondent

Pondicherry: Former Pondicherry Chief Minister and Leader of the Opposition in the Assembly R. V. Janakiraman (Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam) filed nomination on Saturday seeking re-election from Nellithope constituency in the Assembly elections.

Eight party-sponsored candidates (including Janakiraman) and an Independent filed nominations on Saturday.

Others who filed nominations are: former Education Minister K. Lakshminarayanan of Puduchery Munnetra Congress filed nomination seeking to retain the Cassicadai constituency; C. Ramadoss PMC (Villianoor), S. Dasaraman Bharatiya Janata Party (Mannadipet), D. Veeran Republican Party of India-Athwale (Bahoor reserved), G.A. Jagannathan Communist Party of India-Marxist Leninist (Ariyankuppam), S. Balasubramanian CPI (M.L) (Oulgaret) and R. Viswanathan Communist Party of India (Reddiarpalayam).

M. Selvaraj filed nomination as Independent in Neray Grand Aldee (in Karaikal region).