Special Correspondent

District Council for Child Welfare in Mewat

Asha Hooda, Rani Sharma appointed vice-presidents of CouncilRs. 2,000 per creche to the 397 creches for purchase of toys to be given

CHANDIGARH: The Haryana Government has decided to open two destitute children's homes at Rohtak and Sirsa, the State Governor, A.R. Kidwai, said here on Thursday. He was presiding over a meeting of the State Council for Child Welfare at the Haryana Raj Bhawan here. It was also decided to provide Rs. 2,000 per creche to the 397 creches in the State for purchase of toys for the children.

District Council for Child Welfare would be set up in the newly-carved out district of Mewat. Dr.Kidwai called for extending the activities of the Council so that the State might emerge as a leading one in the field of social work also. The Council was undertaking various activities for the welfare of all sections of society.

He announced that Asha Hooda, wife of Chief Minister Bhupinder Singh Hooda, and Rani Sharma, wife of Power Minister Venod Sharma had been appointed as vice-presidents of the Council. He further said that voluntary organisations should be actively involved in social work. The Council, too, would make efforts to provide help to the destitutes and orphans in the State.

Mr.Hooda called upon the people to come forward for the help of patients. He said that local voluntary organisations could play a pivotal role. Special thrust should be given for the welfare of de-addicted people by involving voluntary organisations.

Earlier, the Governor directed that sub-committees be constituted at divisional levels in the State to monitor the working and activities of the Council and the monitoring report should be submitted every three months. Mrs.Hooda said that since Deputy Commissioners were already overloaded so a committee should be constituted to look after the work of Child Councils in every district. The Social Welfare Minister, Kartar Devi, M.L. Tayal, Principal Secretary to Chief Minister, Financial Commissioner and Principal Secretary, Finance, Bhaskar Chatterjee, Commissioner and Secretary, Social Welfare Dalip Singh and Deputy Commissioners were also present.