The Orissa High Court on Friday remitted the punishments that were imposed on two IAS officers and a school inspector for “wilful disobedience” of court orders after the three contemnor-officials tendered unconditional and unqualified apology to the Court.

State school and mass education secretary Aparajita Sarangi (IAS), Director of school education Srikant Prusty (IAS) and Cuttack circle school inspector Brundaban Satapathy were found guilty on charges of contempt of court and the High Court earlier this week had slapped a fine of Rs 1000 on each. In the event of non-payment of fine, the government officials were asked to undergo civil imprisonment of seven days, a Division Bench of Justices B. P. Das and B. K. Mishra had said in its order.

However, all the three officers on Friday appeared before the Court and tendered their apology, informing the Court that the 2009 order of the Court pertaining to an assistant teacher -- Swarnalata Dei, has been complied with in the meantime.

The matter inter alia pertains to the appointment and regularisation of service of Swarnalata who had joined as an assistant teacher in Padmanabh Girls' School of Dahijanga in Cuttack district in January 1992. But the State government regularised her service only in 1999, refusing to recognise her service from 1992 to 1999.

The teacher had approached the HC after her representations to antedate her appointment were turned down by the Government. Deciding the case, the HC in August 2009 had directed the State government to consider the appointment of the aggrieved teacher as antedated from 1992 and giver her all consequential benefits since then.

Notwithstanding the HC order, the when the government did not consider the pleas of the petitioner, she again took the shelter of the HC filing a contempt of court petition against the erring officials.

Allowing the prayer of the petitioner, the HC on May 16 had held the officials guilty and punished them for disobeying the court order.