Filing of papers for local body elections commences

print   ·   T  T  
SEND - OFF: PMC's P. Kannan giving a send-off to party candidate Renuka Appadurai, on Wednesday. Photo: T. Singaravelou
SEND - OFF: PMC's P. Kannan giving a send-off to party candidate Renuka Appadurai, on Wednesday. Photo: T. Singaravelou


Nominations submitted for Pondicherry, Oulgaret Municipalities

Mrs. Appadurai files papers as PMC candidateScrutiny of nominations scheduled for June 15

PONDICHERRY: Premises of the Bharathidasan Government College for Women was buzzing with activity with candidates, seeking to contest the municipal polls, filing nominations before the Returning Officer Jayantha Kumar Ray and officers concerned with the receipt of nominations for the 42 councillor wards of Pondicherry Municipality.

Wednesday was the last day for submitting nominations for the elections to Pondicherry and Oulgaret Municipalities, the Villianoor commune panchayat and the village panchayats under its purview. The second phase of civic polls has been scheduled for June 27 .

The important feature of the day was that former Education Minister Renuka Appadurai filed her nomination for the post of chairperson of Pondicherry Municipalitiy as nominee of the PMC.

She joined the party only on Wednesday, after quitting the DMK, and presented her papers as a PMC candidate. Mrs. Appadurai told The Hindu that she had submitted her resignation to the convenor of the State unit of DMK mentioning the reasons for her action.

She was the deputy convenor of the DMK for long. Margaret Nicholas who also quit the DMK as chairperson of its women's wing, said she had filed nomination as PMC candidate for the Cathedral ward in the Pondicherry Municipal poll. Six candidates filed nominations for the Pondicherry Municipal chairperson's post . They included S. Tamizhselvi (AIADMK), Dr. B.Sridevi (DMK), A. Vijaya (CPI) and Renuka Appadurai (PMC) .The post of chairperson is reserved for women from the general category. The Returning Officer of Oulgaret Municipality G.Panneerselvam told The Hindu that for election to post of chairman of the municipality (which is reserved for open general contest) nine candidates filed nominations .

They included A. M. Krishnamoorthy (AIADMK), T. Murugan (Communist Party of India-Marxist), V. Pethaperumal (former Health Minister who filed both as Congress nominee and Independent), N.S.J.Jayabal (Congress) and S. Bhuvaneswaran ( PMC). Scrutiny of nominations has been scheduled for Thursday ,June 15, while the last date for withdrawal of nominations is June 17.

The first phase of polls in Karaikal, Mahe and Yanam regions will be held on June 24 and the third phase, in the remaining four commune panchayats in Pondicherry, is scheduled for July 1.



Recent Article in OTHER STATES

Heat wave continues

Severe heat wave continued in Odisha as mercury soared to over 40 degree Celsius at 19 places and reached 45 degree or above in six place... »