CUTTACK: The Assembly Ethics committee headed by Berhampur legislator R C Chayupatnaik visited Cuttack on Tuesday and took stock of the situation at a meeting at the Collectorate. The committee was critical of the “slackness” among officials towards legislators and Lok Sabha members of the district. MLAs Arun Sahu, Sipra Mallick, Pravat Biswal and Santosh Singh Saluja were the other members of the committee.


Secretary of the Orissa State Legal Services Authority Shatrughna Pujari along with Jajpur district legal services authority secretary Bilasini Sahu began probe into the alleged Kalinganagar police excess on Tuesday. The judicial officers visited two villages on the day and recorded statements from the villagers about the death of Laxman Jamuda, who was allegedly killed in police firing on May 12.

The probe is undertaken following an order from Orissa High Court in relation to a PIL.

HC stay

A vacation bench of the High Court comprising Justice L Mohapatra and Justice B P Ray in an interim order on Tuesday stayed the criminal proceedings against Chandrasekharpur DAV School principal K C Satapathy. Earlier on May 17, a single-judge bench of Justice M M Das had ordered to initiate action against the Principal for filing false affidavits in the court.