Special Correspondent

Will field Vaithilingam from Nettapakkam

NEW DELHI: The Congress on Friday released the list of 13 party candidates for Pondicherry assembly elections with Chief Minister N. Rangasamy contesting from Thattanchavady.

Besides re-nominating the sitting legislators, the party will field former Chief Minster V. Vaithilingam from Nettapakkam. P.R.N. Thirumurugan is the candidate from Kuttuchery.

The following is the complete list: G. Ravichandran (Cassicade), V. Vaithilingam (Nettapakkam), R. Radhakrishnan (Kuruvinatham), M. Kandasamy (Bahour-SC), P. Angalan (Thirubuvan-SC), C. Djeacoumar (Villanour), A. Namassivayan (Oulgaret), N. Rangasamy (Thattanchavady), Mohd. Shahjahan (Laspet), P.R.N. Thirumurgan (Kuttuchery), A.V. Subramanian (Karaikal South), R. Kamalakannan (Thirunallar) and M. Chandrikasu (Nedungadu-SC).

The party had earlier declared the candidatures of Valsraj (Mahe), A.V. Sridharan (Pallor) and Malladi Krishna Rao (Yanam).

The Congress is contesting 16 of the 30 assembly seats.

11 seats to DMK

It allocated 11 seats to the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam, two to the Pattali Makkal Katchi and one to the Communist Party of India. April 21 is the last date to file nominations for the second phase of polling, due on May 8.