Political atmosphere in Cuttack district is warming up as candidates of different political party’s line up before the returning officers to file their nomination papers for the April 17 simultaneous elections. On the third day of filing of papers on Friday, senior BJD leader Bhartruhari Mahatab filed his papers for the Cuttack Lok Sabha seat. Although, Mahatab was accompanied by several BJD leaders, including the BJD MLA candidates, none of them have filed their papers on the day.

On the other hand the BJP nominee for Cuttack-Choudwar Assembly segment Nayan Ranjan Mohanty and Cuttack Sadar party candidate Dilip Kumar Mallick filed their papers on Friday.