Special Correspondent

BHUBANESWAR: The electronic-payment mechanism for payment of service tax was inaugurated by Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik here on Thursday.

The Central Board of Excise and Customs has made electronic payment of service tax compulsory from April 1 this year for those who had in 2009-2010 paid a total service tax of Rs. 10 lakh or more.

The new system was launched at a function held at the Jayadev Bhavan auditorium with the National Aluminium Company Limited (NALCO) making a token payment of Rs. 1 crore as commercial taxes.

The e-payment facility now enables dealers to make payment of their commercial tax dues through the corporate internet banking portal of State Bank of India.

The facility will also be shortly available through the official portal of the State government's Department of Commercial Taxes, the Chief Minister said.

Finance Minister Prafulla Chandra Ghadai and Chief Secretary Tarun Kanti Mishra were present on the occasion.