‘Tumaku Parunita Bhuli’ walks away with top honours

Best actor goes to Sabyasachi for film ‘Pagala Premee’

The State Film Awards to be presented at Utkal Mandap on Feb. 13

BHUBANESWAR: The State Film Awards for the year 2007 were announced here on Sunday by Culture Minister S.N.Patro in presence of the seven member jury and Commissioner of Culture B.C.Jena. Actor Ramachandra Pratihari would be conferred the Jayadev Puraskar, State’s highest honour for cinema that carries a cash award of Rs.25, 000.

‘Tumaku Parunita Bhuli’ directed by Chakradhar Sahu bagged the maximum number of awards – best direction, best actress (Ameli), best lyrics (Nirmal Nayak) and the best supporting actor (Manoj Mishra) besides the special jury award. It was followed by ‘Dhauli Express’ that claimed the Mohan Sundar Deb Goswami award for best film of the year, best music and best male playback singer (Chittaranjan Tripathy, director of the film) and best art direction (Amiya Moharana).

Ollywood’s romantic hero Sabyasachi emerged as the best actor for ‘Pagala Premee’ while ace actor Mihir Das was adjudged the best comedian for ‘Mnu Tate Love Karuchi’. While both Bobby Mishra (Rasika Nagara) and Manoj Mishra (Tumaku Parunita Bhuli) were announced as the best male supporting actors, the best supporting female titles went to Debjani and Kajol Mishra. Swaraj Barik would be awarded the best child actor (Samay Hatare Dori).

Suvendu Swain, Dilip Panda, Susant Mani and Rakesh Das were announced as the winners of the titles of best story writer, best screenplay, best editing and best audiography. Susant Bahinipati (Rasika Nagara) and Abhiram Mishra (Chaka Chaka Bhaunri) have been the joint winners as best cinematographers. Making her debut, Sulagna Nanda has claimed the best female playback singer title. There have not been any awards in the category of documentaries and educational films for children. The awards would be presented in a special ceremony at Utkal Mandap in the City on Feb. 13.