New policing system for twin cities

print   ·   T  T  
B. K. Behera
B. K. Behera

Special Correspondent

CP-designate lists priorities

BHUBANESWAR: The new Police Commissionerate system will be implemented in the twin cities of Bhubaneswar and Cuttack from January 1 with the enforcement of the Orissa Urban Police Act, 2003.

Briefing presspersons on Tuesday, Commissioner of Police-designate Binay Kumar Behera said the thrust of the police would now be to become people-friendly. Fighting criminals and anti-socials in both cities and bringing improvements in the traffic system would be given priority, Mr. Behera said.

A series of notifications with regard to implementation of the police Commissionerate system and appointment of a number of officials under the new system were likely to be issued by the State Government before the New Year day.

The Commissioner-designate said anyone not willing to lodge a formal complaint with the police against an anti-social could now drop a complaint in the boxes installed at various locations.

Helmet use

While helmet use for the driver would be made mandatory, use of mobile phones while driving would be treated as a violation of the new law and attract imposition of fine up to Rs. 1,000 or imprisonment up to 30 days.

The two cities would be treated as separate police districts headed by a DCP.

Bhubaneswar police district will have five sub-divisions: Capital and Kharvelnagar police stations; Lingaraj, Jatni and Airfield PSs; Khandagiri, Nayapali and Saheed Nagar PSs; Infocity, Mancheswar, Chandka and Chandrasekharpur PSs; and Badagada, Laxmisagar, Balianta and Balipatna PSs.

Cuttack police district will have four sub-divisions: Choudwar, Jagatpur and Chauliaganj; Mangalabagh, Cantonment and Darghabazar; Lalbag, Purighat, Bidanasi and Markat Nagar; and Madhupatna, Cuttack Sadar and Barang.

There would be separate DCPs for Headquarters, Crime, Traffic, Intelligence and Security, Training (Urban Police and Traffic Training Institute), and Armed Reserve (7th Bn.

OSAP/Urban Special Armed Police). The Commissionerate will have a separate traffic district with three sub-divisions -- Bhubaneswar, Cuttack and National Highway.

The Mahila and Energy police stations will work under DCP Crime, Mr, Behera said.



Recent Article in OTHER STATES

Heat wave continues

Severe heat wave continued in Odisha as mercury soared to over 40 degree Celsius at 19 places and reached 45 degree or above in six place... »