Staff Correspondent

Babulal Gaur divested of Commerce and Industry

G.S. Shejwar gets the important Energy Ministry

Himmat Kothari is the new State Home Minister

BHOPAL: The Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chauhan has completed the Cabinet expansion exercise by allocating portfolios and distributing work among his ministerial colleagues.

The State Cabinet was expanded on Saturday with the induction of six new Ministers and elevation of two Ministers of State to the Cabinet rank.

The newly-inducted Minister, Dr. Gauri Shankar Shejwar has been given the Energy, Medical Education, Biodiversity and Bio-technology portfolios. Till now the energy portfolio was with Kailash Vijayvargiya, who represents Indore. He continues to retain the PWD and Information Technology, Science and technology portfolios. The newly-inducted Minister, Laxman Singh Gaud, who also belongs to Indore has been made the Minister for School and Higher Education.

Another newly-inducted Cabinet Minister, Akhand Pratap Singh gets Food, Civil Supplies, Consumer Protection, Backward Classes and Minorities Welfare. Nagendra Singh, who has been promoted to Cabinet rank, would be the Minister for Narmada Valley Development and Technical Education. Earlier, he was also the Minister for Public Relations. This portfolio has gone to the Minister for Mineral Resources and Culture, Laxmikant Sharma. He has also been promoted as Cabinet Minister.

Finance Minister Raghavji Bhai continues to retain Finance, Planning Statistics and 20-point programmes.

The former Chief Minister, Babulal Gaur has been relieved of the important portfolio of Industry and Commerce as well Bhopal Gas Tragedy Relief and Rehabilitation. Now he only retains the portfolios of Commercial Tax and Public Undertakings.

Minister for Housing and Environment, Jayant Mallaiya has gained importance as he has been given the additional responsibility of Commerce, Industries and Employment. His Urban Administration and Development portfolio, however, goes to Narottam Mishra, who would continue as the State Minister for Legislative Affairs.

Anup Mishra has retained the Water Resources and Public Grievances portfolios.

Himmat Kothari is the new State Home Minister. He would also continue to head the Transport department. His Forest portfolio goes to Vijay Shah, who would also head the Scheduled Tribes Welfare department as Cabinet Minister.

Gopal Bhargava retains Cooperative. In place of Food Civil Supplies and Consumer Protection departments, he has been given Farmers’ Welfare and Scheduled Caste Welfare portfolio. Mr. Ajay Vishnoi, who would continue as Public Health and Family Welfare, has been given the Bhopal Gas Tragedy and Rehabilitation portfolio. Till now, he was also the Minister for Medical Education.