Meritorious police personnel rewarded

print   ·   T  T  
DISTNIGUISHED SERVICE: Winners of Chief Minister’s police medal for meritorious service at the Independence Day celebrations in Puducherry on Friday.
DISTNIGUISHED SERVICE: Winners of Chief Minister’s police medal for meritorious service at the Independence Day celebrations in Puducherry on Friday.

Special Correspondent

PUDUCHERRY: The Puducherry government on Friday rewarded four police personnel for their meritorious service even as four uniformed personnel including two belonging to the Fire Service in the Union Territory had been selected for President’s Medal.

Police driver R.Jayabalan, Head Constable N.Shanmuganathan and leading firemen Ayyasamy Chakravathy and Thangavel Subramaniam had been chosen for the President’s Medal.

Among those who received the Chief Minister’s Police Medal was Sadayandi Kalivaradhan, who played a commendable role in maintaining public order during a communal clash at Nettapakkam police limit in 1980.

The citation read out at the Independence Day celebrations shortly before Chief Minister N.Rangasamy presented the medal to Kalivaradhan, said the police head constable was exceptionally courageous and dedicated. Just as hundreds of people belonging to two communities arrayed themselves against each other, he, along with the constables, unmindful of the personal risk stood between the warring groups and foiled the attempts of a deadly attack.

Attempts by miscreants to cause a serious mischief to Anglo-French Textile Mills during a bandh were prevented, thanks to the information provided by him. He also played a key role in the detection of a dacoity case in Villianur, the citation said.

Head Constable S.Balakrishnan had also been awarded in recognition of his unblemished service. With great courage and dedication, he faced a mob which started attacking an Excise team with weapons such as knives, iron rods, clubs and stones when the personnel tried to seize rectified spirit illegally kept in a house at Mullai Nagar in Kuruvinatham village on May 29.

Mr.Balakrishnan, who was a member of the Excise team, also sustained grievous injuries. Subsequent to the incident, a search was conducted resulting in seizure of 15375 litres of rectified spirit worth Rs.15 lakh. He had already received five commendation certificates and four cash rewards.

Head Constables Muthukumaraswamy Rangasamy and B.Vijayapoornam were among the awardees. Mr.M.Rangasamy had played a significant role in detection of cases of unauthorised possession of bogus and illicit video tapes of new feature films during 1991. Mr.Vijayapoornam was responsible for detecting property offences in Thavalakuppam and Reddiarpalayam, according to the citations.

The Chief Secretary’s Trophy for the best police station for 2007 had gone to the Muthialpet police station.



Recent Article in OTHER STATES

104-year-old Haji Amir Hossain being taken by his relatives after he cast his vote at a polling station in Madhyamgram, on the outskirts of Kolkata on Saturday. (Right) Women in a queue waiting to cast their vote for the municipal elections.Photos: AFP

Violence mars Bengal polls

Polling neither ideal nor peaceful: State election commissioner »