Principal Secretary (Home) changed again; Rakesh Bahadur replaces Deepak Singhal

In an attempt to send a strong signal to non-performers and refurbish the image of his government, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav on Tuesday night reshuffled his Ministry, sacking one Minister and downsizing four others. The portfolios of some Ministers of State were also changed.

The “operation clean” was executed two days after Samajwadi Party president, Mulayam Singh held a meeting with 57 Ministers.

In another significant move, Mr. Yadav simultaneously removed senior bureaucrat, Deepak Singhal from the post of Principal Secretary (Home) within a fortnight of him taking charge. Social Welfare Commissioner, Rakesh Bahadur, a 1979 batch IAS officer, has replaced Mr. Singhal. The administrative change was also made late on Tuesday night.

The two major decisions were taken on a day when Governor B.L. Joshi tendered his resignation.

The rejig of the U.P. Ministry was on the cards following the Samajwadi Party’s loss in the Lok Sabha elections. While the portfolios of 13 Ministers were changed, Entertainment Tax Minister, Pawan Pandey was dropped. Mr. Pandey was recently involved in a row with the Faizabad district administration. Mr Kailash Chaurasia who contested against Prime Minister Narendra Modi in Varanasi was reinducted as Minister of State for Child Development, Nutrition and Basic Education.

Cabinet Minister Balram Yadav was divested of his Panchayat Raj portfolio and given the less important Prisons portfolio. Prisons Minister and Samajwadi Party spokesman Rajendra Choudhary will now be the Minister for Political Pensions. Another Cabinet Minister, Ram Gobind Chaudhary, was relieved of the Child Development and Nutrition portfolios which will be held by the Chief Minister. Mr. Chaudhary has been left with the Basic Education Ministry.

The naming of Mr. Bahadur as Principal Secretary ( Home) is the third such appointment in the Home Department since September 2013 when Anil Kumar Gupta was given the charge. Mr. Gupta was replaced by Mr. Singhal a fortnight ago.

  • The “operation clean” comes after Mulayam Singh holds session with 57 Ministers

  • The portfolios of 13 Ministers were changed