Staff Reporter

33 candidates, new names for four constituencies

Amanatullah Khan dropped

Nine new names included

NEW DELHI: The Samajwadi Party on Monday released a revised list of candidates with four replacements for the upcoming Delhi Assembly elections.

The fresh list of 33 candidates with new names for four constituencies -- Okhla, Babarpur, Kirari and Narela -- was announced by party general secretary Amar Singh.

Among the candidates who find their names dropped are Amanatullah Khan who was designated to contest from Okhla, Shahnawaz Khan (Babarpur), A. S. Yadav (Kirari) and Zile Singh (Narela).

While Amanatullah Khan has been replaced by Wasim Ghazi, S. A. Betab, Sri Dubey and Hari Om Sharma are the contestants from Babarpur, Kirari and Narela respectively.

Declining to comment why Amanatullah Khan was dropped from the revised list, the party’s Delhi unit president Shyam Ghambir said: “We have mandated Amar Singh to comment on why a particular candidate has been chosen or dropped. As for the other three, they had given to us in writing the names of their replacement as they could not contest the elections for various reasons.”

Amanatullah was accused of attacking media persons during Amar Singh and Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee’s visit to Jamia Nagar where two suspected Indian Mujahideen terrorists were killed in an encounter on September 19.

The nine new candidates whose names have been included in the fresh list are Om Prakash for New Delhi, C. P. Pandey (Ghonda), S. K. Sinha (Rajendra Nagar), Dharmveer Khola (Janakpuri), Dinesh Jain (Tilak Nagar), Jayachandra (Viswas Nagar), K. K. Singh (Dwarka), Jitendra Panchal (Rohtas Nagar), and Neelam Saxena (Greater Kailash).

While the party has fielded five Muslim candidates, it has chosen to have just two women in the race -- Neelam Saxena and Anita Yadav.

The other contestants in the fray are Satyanarayan Yadav (Model Town), Ganga Singh Rathor (Sadar), G. S. Chawla (Matia Mahal), Rajinder Bagri (Ballimaran), S. P. Singh (Burari), A. Mishra (Timarpur), Masood Khan (Seelampur), S. S. Betab (Babarpur), Hasbib Khan (Karawal Nagar), Jaivir Singh (Patparganj), Om Vir Yadav (Lakshmi Yadav), Suresh Tomar (Badli), C. S. Rathore (Nangloi), Iqbal Ahmed (Vikaspuri), Anita Yadav (Matiala), O. P. Singh (Najafgarh), Anand Gupta (Sangam Vihar), S. S. Khan (Badarpur) and Sharafat Ali (Mustafabad).