With four IPS officers of the rank of the Inspector General of Police (IG) getting promotions on Tuesday, the search has begun for new zonal police chiefs for Kashmir and Jammu divisions.

Authoritative sources revealed to The Hindu on Tuesday that a Departmental Promotion Committee (DPC), headed by Chief Secretary Madhav Lal, has cleared the elevation of four IGs — IG Kashmir S.M. Sahai, IG Jammu Dilbagh Singh, besides Sheikh Owais Ahmad and V.K. Singh — to the rank of Additional Director General of Police (ADGP).

Home Secretary Suresh Kumar, Financial Commissioner (Finance) Mohammad Iqbal Khanday and Director General of Police (DGP) Ashok Prasad are the other members of DPC

All the four IPS officers, of the 1987 batch, were actually due for promotion on January 1, 2012.

The delay was attributed to the fact that the authorities failed to find appropriate replacement for the crucial territorial police zones of Kashmir and Jammu for several months.