Special Correspondent

NEW DELHI: The process for phase-II of elections scheduled on April 23 in 141 Lok Sabha seats spread over 13 States and Union Territories began on Saturday with President Pratibha Patil issuing the notification.

For one Lok Sabha seat in Manipur, the poll will be held on April 22.

Similarly the by-elections for the Assembly segments, which have already been announced in some States, will be held if the respective Lok Sabha constituencies go to the polls in this phase.

Goa (two Lok Sabha seats), Tripura (2), Andhra Pradesh (20), Assam (11), Jharkhand (8), Karnataka (17), Madhya Pradesh (13), Orissa (11), Maharashtra (25), Bihar (13), Jammu and Kashmir (1) and Uttar Pradesh (17) are the States/UTs which will be covered in phase-II.

The last date for filing nomination in this phase is April 4.The papers will be scrutinised on April 6 and the last date of withdrawal of candidature is April 8.