Polling in sixteen Assembly segments for the Mandi Lok Sabha by-poll in Himachal Pradesh will be held on Sunday, while voting in rain-ravaged Kinnaur constituency has been deferred to June 27.

The counting of votes, which was scheduled for June 27, has been deferred to June 30, Chief Electoral Officer Narendra Chauhan said.

The Election Commission has extended restrictions on exit polls till 5.30 p.m. on June 27, he said.

Elaborate arrangements have been made to ensure peaceful, free and fair elections and 10,72,425 voters in five districts will cast their vote on Sunday, while 52,360 voters of Kinnaur will exercise their franchise on June 27, Mr. Chauhan said.

A total of 1,921 polling stations have been established, including 137 in Bharmour, 89 in Lahual-Spiti, 474 in Kullu district, 967 in Mandi district and 136 in Rampur.

A total of 256 polling stations have been included in sensitive and 82 in the hypersensitive category, he said.

Congress candidate Pratibha Singh, the wife of Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh, is pitted against former BJP minister Jairam Thakur in a five-cornered contest, with three independent candidates in the fray. – PTI