Functions to be held at 10 places in Uttar Pradesh

A top-heavy team comprising nine Union Ministers, a Chief Minister, Chairman of a Central Commission and MPs has been pressed into service to release the Congress Party's ‘Vision Document' this Friday for the 2012 Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections. The ambitious document will be released simultaneously at 3 p.m. at 10 different places in the poll-bound State.

In Gorakhpur, the vision document will be released by the party general secretary in charge of Uttar Pradesh, Digvijay Singh, and Union Minister for Petroleum, R.P.N. Singh. Union Law Minister Salman Khursheed, Steel Minister Beni Prasad Verma and U.P. Congress president Rita Bahuguna Joshi will release the document in Lucknow and Mohan Prakash, MP, will do the same in Varanasi. In Allahabad, the document will be released by the Union Rural Development Minister Jairam Ramesh and Congress Legislature Party leader Pramod Tiwari.

While the Union Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs, Rajiv Shukla, and Firozabad MP Raj Babbar will perform the duty in Agra, Union Coal Minister Sri Prakash Jaiswal and Sam Pitroda will release the document in Kanpur. In Moradabad, the job would be accomplished by the Chairman of National Scheduled Castes Commission P.L. Punia and Jitendra Singh, MP.

Delhi Chief Minister Shiela Dikshit along with CWC member Rashid Masood will release the document in Meerut; in Jhansi it will be the turn of Union Human Resource Development Minister Kapil Sibal and Union Minister of State for Rural Development Pradeep Jain ‘Aditya' to make public the vision document.

It will be released in Shahjahanpur by Union Minister of State for Highways Jitin Prasada and Meenakshi Natarajan. The Union Coal Minister, who is the Chairman of the Congress campaign committee, told reporters that election manifesto would be released later.