Staff Reporter

For unrestricted movement of vehicles in NCR

NEW DELHI: To facilitate unrestricted and seamless movement of vehicles in the National Capital Region, a reciprocal Common Transport Agreement was signed between the governments of Delhi, Haryana, Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh here on Tuesday.

The agreement is intended to facilitate development of an effective NCR comprising parts of Delhi and the three Northern States so that there is unrestricted movement of inter-State traffic. With the agreement coming into force with immediate effect, the reciprocating States will accord recognition to the tax tokens, drivers and conductor licence, transport vehicle authorisation and the certificate of fitness issued under the relevant rules of each State in respect of vehicles operating on the inter-State routes.

Agreement period

The agreement would be valid for the next ten years or till a new agreement is signed among the constituent States. It will be reviewed after five years.

The States will take the initiative to computerise the date base of drivers, vehicles, registration and other related information in the NCR on priority basis. The licence, permit fee, tax, counter signature fee for all carriages will be fixed by members of all the participating States as per their own policies. Single-point tax and uniform tax rates may apply to vehicles covered by contract carriage permits. Till uniform rates are decided, existing tax rates for collection of taxes may continue.

CNG stations

At present, a sufficient number of CNG stations are not available in most areas of the NCR other than Delhi. Therefore, all the constituent States and other stakeholders will endeavour to expedite the availability of CNG stations in the NCR. The age of the vehicle will be limited to 15 years for CNG vehicles, eight years for diesel operated vehicles till any further directions are issued.