Special Correspondent

NEW DELHI: The Election Commission has announced biennial polls for four seats in the Karnataka Legislative Council – two each from the graduates' and teachers' constituencies. The poll is scheduled on June 21 and the counting of votes will be taken up on June 24.

The poll notification will be issued on May 28 and the last date for filing nomination is June 4.

The papers will be scrutinised on June 5 and June 7 is the last date for withdrawal of candidature.

The poll is necessitated due to the retirement of MLCs – M.P. Nadagouda (Karnataka North-West Graduates's constituency), K.T. Srikantegowda (Karnataka South Graduates Constituency), G.K. Patil (Karnataka North-West Teachers' Constituency) and Basavaraj Horatti (Karnataka West Teachers' Constituency) – on June 30.

The Election Commission said the model code of conduct has come into force with immediate effect in the districts where the constituencies are located.