The Congress has re-nominated its sitting Rajya Sabha members from Rajasthan, Abishekh Manu Singhvi and Narendra Budhania, for the Rajya Sabha elections due on March 30. This is going to be the second tenure for Congress spokesperson Singhvi, who hails from Jodhpur, while Mr. Budhania is just finishing the second of the two tenures he had filled in after the resignation/demise of the sitting MPs.

The Bharatiya Janata Party has chosen its national secretary Bhupendra Yadav as its candidate from the State. In all, three new members—the third vacancy was created by the retirement of Ramdas Agarwal of the BJP—are to be elected from Rajasthan. The ruling Congress is in a position to elect two while the BJP can elect one with their respective strengths in the Assembly.

Mr. Singhvi filed his nomination papers on Saturday in the presence of Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, PCC president Chandra Bhan, Ministers A. Ahmed Khan, Jitendra Singh and Rajendra Pareek, besides the ruling party chief whip Raghu Sharma, deputy chief whip Rattan Dewasi and Minister of State Virndra Beniwal.

Mr. Singhvi's name was proposed by Mr. Gehlot, Ministers Braj Kishore Sharma and A. Ahmed Khan and seven other MLAs. Mr. Budhania is already in Jaipur but he is scheduled to file his nomination on Monday, the penultimate day for filing nominations.

The 43-year-old Yadav, though not a very familiar name for the Rajasthan BJP, had his education in Ajmer as his father was posted there. The family hails from Haryana.