Loses Uttarakhand’s all Mayoral seats

The loud squabble among the top Congress leaders over the past two months seems to have led to the party’s debacle in urban civic bodies polls. Not only did the ruling party lose all the six Mayor seats -- four to the Bharatiya Janata Party and two to independents – it fared poor in the other municipal bodies also.

The BJP fetched 23 seats, Independents 19, Congress 19 and the Bahujan Samaj Party three of Municipal Chairpersons.

The worst defeat came at Gairsen where Dhanraj Singh of the BJP was elected chairman of the newly formed Nagar Parishad. The Chief Minister Vijay Bahuguna, it may be recalled, had held the first Cabinet meeting in Gairsen and then laid the foundation stone of the Vidhan Sabha complex there recently. The Congress leaders were more than sure of winning over the electorate through what was called the Gairsen card.

The detractors of Mr. Bahuguna including Speaker Govind Singh Kunjwal, Union Minister Harish Rawat and Pauri MP Satpal Maharaj kept the wave of dissent continuing by raising uneasy issues like declaration of the permanent Capital, lack of development at the grassroots level, unrest among government employees etc. As if local controversies were not enough, the Centre seems to have outdone all by declaring the entire Bhagirathi-Ganga stretch from Gomukh to Uttarkashi as an eco-sensitive zone which the Chief Minister himself described as anti-Uttarakhand as the implementation of the eco-sensitive zone would mean a halt to all development activity in the region.

“The people reeling under steep inflation seem to have decided against the Congress as its leaders were fighting openly with each other and making no efforts to improve the condition of the poor man,” said Sandeep Dobhal adding that the Government’s decision to lower the price of liquor also added to the wave of resentment against the ruling party.

None of the senior leaders like Harish Rawat, Satpal Maharaj, Indira Hirdeyesh and Vijay Bahuguna could ensure the victory of the party in their respective areas. “The party’s State unit will have to do some explaining before the Congress Vice-President Rahul Gandhi who had allowed the local leaders to select candidates and carry out electioneering for the civic bodies,” observed Ravindra Negi and Suman Sajwan.

  • BJP wins four seats while independents win in two

  • Congress fares bad in Municipal Councils too