Staff Reporter

Discom splits South and West circles

NEW DELHI: Power distribution company BRPL has increased the number of its circles from the present two to four. Two empowered senior officers, one each for business and operations and maintenance, will head the respective department in each of the four circles.

According to a BRPL official, the “South Circle” has been split into two -- “South-I” based out of Adchini and “South-II” based out of Nizamuddin. Similarly the “West Circle” has been split into “West-I”, based out of Hari Nagar, and “West II”, based out of Punjabi Bagh.

The move to split the existing circles is expected to give a fillip to AT&C reduction efforts, optimisation of customer care, improved interaction with customers, decentralisation of responsibility and more empowerment for the field staff, said the discom official.

“This area restructuring has been necessitated keeping in mind the explosive growth in South Delhi and West Delhi. In addition, this move to decentralise operations is part of the BSES objective to empower the field staff, enabling the company to come closer to its customers and react faster to their needs,” said the official.

While South-I will include Alaknanda, Nizamuddin, Nehru Place, Sarita Vihar and Khanpur, South-II will include Saket, R. K. Puram, Hauz Khas and Vasant Kunj.

In West-I, the areas included are Punjabi Bagh, Nangloi, Mundka, Najafgarh and Jaffarpur and in West-II Tagore Garden, Dwarka, Palam, Janakpuri and Vikaspuri.