Special Correspondent

Kalyan Singh to contest from Etah

Maneka Gandhi and son Varun to contest

Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi will battle it out in Rampur

NEW DELHI: The Bharatiya Janata Party here on Tuesday announced the names of 11 candidates who will contest the next Lok Sabha election from Uttar Pradesh. Seven of them are current Lok Sabha members.

As expected, party president Rajnath Singh will contest from Ghaziabad while the former party president and veteran leader, Murli Manohar Joshi, will try his luck from Varanasi.

Both these seats were lost by the BJP in the 2004 Lok Sabha elections.

The former Chief Minister, Kalyan Singh, has been accommodated as the candidate from Etah as his current constituency, Bulandshahr, has now become a reserved Scheduled Caste seat. Ashok Pradhan will contest from Bulandshahr. In the current Lok Sabha, Mr. Pradhan represents Khurja (SC).

Maneka Gandhi and her son Varun Gandhi have been accommodated in adjacent constituencies. Maneka Gandhi’s old constituency Pilibhit has been given to Varun while she will contest from Aonla.

From Gorakhpur, the party’s sitting MP Adityanath will be fielded once again while party vice-president Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi has been asked to prepare for the battle from Rampur, a seat lost by the BJP in 2004. The former Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs, Santosh Gangwar, has been given the party ticket from Bareilly, which he represents currently.

Pankaj Chaudhary will be the candidate from Maharajganj while Bhanu Pratap Verma will contest the Jalaun (SC) seat. Both these candidates are sitting MPs from the same constituencies.