New Delhi: A day after inauguration, judicial work at the newly-built court complex at Rohini began in right earnest with at least 80 per cent of cases taken up despite a strike by lawyers.

"We were told to accommodate as many cases as we can which does not require the appearance of lawyers. Eighty per cent cases were heard on Saturday," Judge-in-Charge Rewa Khetrapal said.

Meanwhile, the jurisdiction of Magistrates at the new complex were announced on Saturday.

Additional Chief Metropolitan Magistrate G P Singh will be in charge of criminal cases probed by the Crime Branch of Police, Janakpuri and cases under the Drugs and Cosmetic Act.

The rest of the allocations are the following: Metropolitan Magistrate (MM) Deepak Garg - Cases from police stations in Mangolpuri and Prashant Vihar, MM Manoj Kumar (Moti Nagar and Hari Nagar), MM S S Rathi (Sultan Puri), MM Bhupesh Kumar (Bawana, Narela Industrial area, Alipur), MM Digvinay Singh (Uttam Nagar and Punjabi Bagh), MM Rekha (Paschim Nagar, Keerti Nagar).

MM Amit Bansal (Keshav Puram, Ashok Vihar, Saraswati Vihar), MM R K Goel (Jahangir Puri, Shalimar Bagh), MM Prashant Kumar (Adarsh Nagar, Model Town, Mukherjee Nagar), MM Vijay Shanker (Rohini, Samaypur Badli, Khanjawala), MM Devender Kumar (Nangloi, Anand Parbat), MM Barkha Gupta (Mahila courts).

MM Rakesh Kumar (Patel Nagar), Sanjay Khangwal (Rajori Garden), MM Pooranchand (Tilak Nagar, Vikas Puri). -- PTI