Staff Reporter

Biggest beneficiary would be Dwarka

NEW DELHI: To make its stations more accessible to people and to encourage the masses to shift from private modes of transport to the Metro Rail, the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation has obtained approval from the State Transport Authority for 24 routes for RTV feeder buses.

While bus operators have been invited to run RTV buses on 18 of these routes, the other six routes have been approved and tenders would be floated soon.

The biggest beneficiary of these routes will be Dwarka Sub-City, to which commercial operations of the Metro had commenced on April 1, 2006.

So far, permits have been issued to 25 RTV buses to operate on these routes.

The RTV feeder bus routes that touch Dwarka and for which tenders have been floated are Kapashera border to Dwarka Sector 9 Metro station, Bijwasan border to Dwarka Sector 9, Tajpur Khurd village to Dwarka Sector 10, Najafgarh to Dwarka Sector 10, Milakpur village to Dwarka Metro station, Khaira village to Dwarka Sector 10, Surkhpur village to Dwarka Metro station, Mudhela Khurd to Dwarka Metro station, Dabri to Dwarka Sector 10, Nasirpur to Dwarka Sector 10, Bijwasan railway station to Dwarka Metro station, Nangkera Border Badusara to Dwarka Metro station, Kapashera Border to Uttam Nagar East via Dwarka Sector 22-23, Jhatikera Sikarpur to Dwarka Metro station, Chawla Village to Dwarka Metro station, Mundka to Dwarka Metro station, Tikri Border to Dwarka Metro station via Jharoda Kalan and Najafgarh, and Tikri Border to Dwarka Metro station via Dichao Kalan and Nangli Dairy.

The other feeder bus routes that have been approved for linking Dwarka are Dwarka Sector 22 to Indra Park, Dwarka Sector 19 Amrahi Village to Sector 1, Dwarka Sector 19 Pocket 2 and 3 to Dabri, Dwarka Sector 16 to Mahavir Enclave Part III, Dwarka Sector 17 to Vishwas Park, and Dwarka Sector 16 D to Sukh Ram Park. There are 12 other approved RTV feeder bus routes for Line-3 of the Delhi Metro on which 56 such buses are operating.